Thirteen Colonies > New England Colonies

New England Colonies


The New England Colonies of British America included Connecticut Colony, the Colony of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations, Massachusetts Bay Colony, and the Province of New Hampshire, as well as a few smaller short-lived colonies. The New England colonies were part of the Thirteen Colonies and eventually became five of the six states in New England.[1] Captain John Smith's 1616 work A Description of New England first applied the term "New England"[2] to the coastal lands from Long Island Sound to Newfoundland.[3]

Thirteen Colonies


Primary Sources

Secondary Sources